Notice: The called constructor method for WP_Widget in BP_Album_Widget_social is deprecated since version 4.3.0! Use
instead. in /home/snag/public_html/dev/wp-includes/functions.php on line 3876
Lifetime Achievement Award - Society of North American Goldsmiths

Lifetime Achievement Award

The Lifetime Achievement Award is SNAG’s highest honor and is presented to individuals who have made significant contributions to the field of metalsmithing.

LAA 400Criteria for the award include:
•    Sustained, long term commitment to the metal arts
•    Significant contributions to the field
•    Noteworthy achievements through creative work, teaching, research, scholarship, exhibition and curatorial work, and/or other meaningful activities in support of contemporary practice

This award is SNAG’s highest honor and is presented to individuals who have made significant contributions to the field of metalsmithing. Selection of the award recipient is made by a committee of 3 members, and the makeup of the committee changes each year.

Nominations for the Lifetime Achievement Award

We are now taking nominations year-round. Nominations submitted by December 1st will be considered for the following year. Once nominated, an individual’s name remains under consideration for 5 years, after which time, if not selected, he or she must be re-nominated to stay eligible for consideration.

Any member of SNAG may nominate someone for the Lifetime Achievement Award. The nominees do not have to be SNAG members. Along with filling out the nomination form, there must be letters of support from 3 additional SNAG members.

Make a Nomination

Submit a Letter of Support

2018 Committee: Kim Cridler (chair), Diane Falkenhagen, Perry Price
Coordinator: Gwynne Rukenbrod Smith

The Award is the work of metalsmith Cynthia Eid, who won a design competition sponsored by SNAG. Her design is a stunning Argentium silver vessel on a black marble base. All honorees also receive lifetime membership in SNAG.

2017 Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient

The recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award for 2017 is Helen Shirk. She was honored at SNAG’s ‘NEXUS’ conference in New Orleans in May 2017. The conference was dedicated to her and she received her award during the opening remarks. Read more about Helen Shirk>>>


Past Recipients

Pages honoring all past award recipients are in progress and will be posted when complete.

Helen Shirk

Gary Noffke

Fred Fenster

Robert Ebendorf

Gary Griffin

J. Fred Woell

L. Brent Kington

Lois Etherington Betteridge

Stanley Lechtzin

Heikki Seppä

Mary Ann Scherr

Kurt Matzdorf

Harry Bober

Margaret Craver

Helen Drutt English

Arline Fisch

Imogene “Tex” Geiling

John Paul Miller

Philip Morton

Oppi Untracht

Nathan Winkler